Rhode Island Heroin Crimes
Have you been charged with possession of heroin in Rhode Island? These charges bring with them serious fines up to and including life in prison. If charged with possession of heroin you should retain representation immediately. Call Heroin Possession Defense Attorney S. Josh Macktaz, Esq. immediately at 401-285-2996.
Rhode Island Heroin Laws
Code Section 21-28-4.01, et seq.
Possession of Heroin – 3 yrs. and/or $500 to $5000; Nolo contendere plea: 100 hrs. of community service and drug education program; 1 oz.-1 kg.: 10-50 years and/or $10,000-$500,000 Over 1 kg.: 20 yrs. to life and $25,000 to $1,000,000
Sale of Heroin- Person not drug dependent: life and/or $10,000 to $500,000; Drug dependent: 30 yrs. and/or $3000 to $100,000; Over 1 oz.-1 kg.: minimum 10-50 yrs. and/or $10,000 to $500,000; Over 1 kg.:20 yrs.-life and/or $25,000-$1,000,000 Within 300 yds. of school: double penalties; Sale to minor or 3 yrs. junior: minimum 15 yrs. and up to $500,000
DISCLAIMER: This site and any information contained herein are intended for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. Seek competent legal counsel for advice on any legal matter. Also, the Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.