How Can We Help?

Suspended Drivers License Defense in Newport RI

Newport RI Criminal Defense Lawyer S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq.

Schedule a Free Consultation

Newport License Suspension and Revocation Lawyer

Challenging the rules of the road in Rhode Island is not recommended. Besides the obvious risks of injury or loss of life, your violations could result in the suspension or revocation of your Rhode Island driver’s license.

Suspended Drivers License Attorney Macktaz assists:

  • Persons facing charges of driving or operating with a suspended Rhode Island drivers license
  • Persons with a suspended license in need of restoration in Rhode Island

Most people rely on an automobile as their primary means of transportation. A suspended license can limit a person’s mobility and make it difficult to commute to work or visit family and friends. While this may seem like an unreasonable hardship, it is better to make other driving arrangements, such as taking the bus or carpooling, than to risk being pulled over without a valid license. If you are caught driving with a suspended license from a DUI/DWI, you risk being penalized even further.

For repeat offenders Rhode Island has laws that can imprison someone for as much as five years for repeatedly driving on a suspended license. In addition to jail time, depending on the severity of your violation, you can face massive fines and mandatory driving or alcohol and drug education classes. Also, once your insurance carrier is notified, you can expect dramatically increased insurance premiums.

Rhode Island Defense Attorney S. Joshua Macktaz provides effective representation not just for people charged with “operating on a suspended license” but also for people whose licenses are suspended and they need assistance in getting them reinstated.

Reasons for Suspension

A suspended license means you lose your driving privileges for a court-ordered amount of time, usually anywhere from three to 18 months. Once your suspension expires, you are allowed to pursue license reinstatement.

Your Rhode Island driver’s license can be suspended for any of the following reasons:

  • Attempting to evade a marked police car after being signaled to stop
  • Refusing an alcohol test
  • Operating your vehicle on a designated bicycle path
  • Carrying a controlled substance in your vehicle

Reasons for Revocation

A revoked license means long-term loss, usually amounting to three to 10 years, with no guarantee that you will be allowed to resume driving again. This is determined by a hearing officer with Operator Control (part of the Division of Motor Vehicles). Usually, your participation in a drug and alcohol education program or a driver safety course determines your fate.

Your Rhode Island driver’s license can be revoked for any of the following reasons:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol
  • Not stopping at an accident to offer aid when injury or death is involved
  • Convicted for altering license to buy alcohol
  • Vehicular manslaughter

Suspended License Violation Penalties

Each state has its own penalties for drivers who are caught without a valid license, but most states will extend the period of the suspension and slap the offender with a hefty fine. Under Rhode Island law, penalties for driving on a suspended license are as follows:

  • First offense: 3 months additional suspension + $500 fine + at least 10 days in jail
  • Second offense: 6 months additional suspension + $500 fine + 6 months to 1 year in jail
  • Third offense: Felony charge + 1 year additional suspension + $1000 fine + at least 1 year in jail

Coping with Your License Suspension

Clearly, suspended license violations are taken seriously and can add months to your original penalty, not to mention the additional hefty fines. It is best to not risk being caught without a valid license. If you have been convicted of a DUI and penalized with a license suspension, consider using one of the many other modes of transportation available to you. If you are traveling within a couple of miles, try walking or biking to your destination, or look up a convenient bus route. You may find that you are able to save hundreds and even thousands of dollars that otherwise would be spent on gas.


Once your suspension or revocation period ends, you will be allowed to apply for reinstatement. There are no guarantees in this process and you will appear before a hearing officer with Operator Control in hopes that they deem that you are safe to resume driving.

If you have been arrested for driving with a suspended license, you face the possibility of extended suspension, fines, and jail time. Consider consulting with a DUI defense attorney immediately to review the options that are available to you so that you can regain your license.

For further information see the Rhode Island Drivers License Suspension and Revocation Laws

phone Request your free case evaluation today! (401) 324-2992

Complete the Form Below For Immediate Assistance

    Get a Free Consulation With Newport RI Criminal Defense Lawyer S. Joshua Macktaz, Esq. (401) 324-2992