Are you, or someone you know facing a DUI in Newport, Rhode Island? Dealing with the consequences of a DUI (driving under the influence) charge can be extremely stressful. It’s important to know exactly what to do during this challenging time.
In Newport, Rhode Island, driving under the influence is an offense taken very seriously. Even a first-time offense is considered a misdemeanor. Not to mention, the fines that come with a charge are no laughing matter. Police forces in Newport are really cracking down on people who have been convicted of DUI’s.
Being a first-time offender of a DUI in Newport, Rhode Island, can be seriously life changing, but it gets even worse when you are facing second and third offenses of DUI. The repercussions of driving under the influence follow you long after you leave the courtroom.
To see if someone is too intoxicated to drive safely, a standard measurement is used in Rhode Island, as well as other states throughout the nation. Anyone who is found to be driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 or higher, is considered an impaired driver and can be charged with a DUI.
The penalties when facing a DUI in Newport, Rhode Island, are severe. Not only do you face a suspension of your driver’s license, which affects pretty much every aspect of your life, but you also face expensive fines and even jail time!
The Penalties When Facing A DUI In Newport, Rhode Island
If you are facing DUI charges, it’s important to know the potential penalties you’ll be hit with. Let’s talk about a first offense DUI in Rhode Island. If it’s your first time getting busted for driving under the influence, you better hope you’ve saved up enough cash. You can be charged fines from $100 to $500 dollars! You’ll also be facing the possibility of a driver’s license suspension for up to 18 months, and even one year of jail time.
If it’s your second time facing a DUI offense in Newport, you could be forced to pay fines anywhere from $400 to $1,000. You could also spend 10 days to one year in jail, and automatically have your driver’s license suspended for up to two years!
In the case of a DUI, third time is definitely not a charm. If you are charged with a third offense of a DUI in Newport, Rhode Island, you could be facing five years in jail. You’ll also end up paying penalties and fines from $400 to $5,000. Also, say goodbye to driving for a while. A DUI charge will get your driver’s license suspended for at least 2 years! That’s not all. You will also be required to have an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle!
In addition to all the potential penalties you’ll be facing when charged, you will also have further requirements. You may need to complete a driver retraining course, and community service (which will no doubt be time-consuming.) Not to mention, your car insurance rates will shoot sky high after your charge.
What Do You Do If You’re Arrested For Driving Under The Influence Of Drugs?
After being pulled over, you will most likely face the decision to take a breathalyzer test. You may ask yourself, “Do I have to do it?” The answer is no. You are not required to submit a breathalyzer test when facing a DUI in Newport, Rhode Island. But some words of warning: there are consequences either way. So what happens if you don’t take the breathalyzer test?
Many people choose not to submit a breathalyzer test because the results can impact your case in court, and provide enough appropriate evidence to have you charged for a DUI. But if you don’t take a test after being pulled over, the police officer can charge you with a second offense, simply because you refused to submit it. What else? Your driver’s license will automatically be suspended. We all know the inconvenience of not being able to drive!
You could also take your case to court. If you are arrested, you will attend an arraignment at District Court, and then you’ll be asked to enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. You can also request a jury trial or a bench trial. But if you refuse to submit a blood test or a chemical test, it becomes handled as civil matters. That means you automatically are arraigned at the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal in Cranston.
It’s important to know that you don’t have to plead guilty to a DUI in Newport, Rhode Island. With the right legal team fighting for you, you can get your penalties lowered, and minimize the overall impact of the charges. To talk to someone about your DUI charges, contact us today here.